Detachment

Detachment (2011) directed by Tony Kaye and written by Carl Lund. Sometimes words can’t really describe something so simple as a movie, or at least I can’t find the words to describe what Detachment really means; to me anyway.

“A substitute teacher who drifts from classroom to classroom finds a connection to the students and teachers during his latest assignment.” – the summary on IMDB, which really doesn’t sum up what the movie really means.

It’s a movie composed of many different variables which revolve around growing up; the struggles, the scars, the negative side to everything that may happen to us. Take it through personal experience, you’ll probably know where I’m coming from. It’s almost a mirror image of the people I’ve seen and the people I know and myself, because we all get frustrated at life, the confusion we feel in our teenage years or even older because we don’t feel any guidance from anyone and we just want to belong. No matter how much we crave the guidance nobody can lend it to us and one of the strongest influences around are the teachers. It’s mostly teachers because parents are different people who as we all know can’t tell you what to do as where teachers show you interests they have (plus the amount of time we have with teachers). There’s a connection if you share common interests and that’s how we attach to them; even if we hate them or don’t care for them, they still leave an impact. Good or bad.

Adrien Brody plays a substitute teacher named Henry Barthes who doesn’t have a lot of time with the students of an under-appreciated school full of angsty teens and faculty who truly care about the future for the students and they won’t listen. He shows apathy and mental stability right away, yet it’s admirable because he can handle the students, disregarding his physical or mental well-being.  He has no goal to make an impact and as the students slowly connect with him the movie shows Henry’s scars and why the viewer should disconnect from him because of his own scars, yet I was drawn in more. They’re almost trying to tell me that he can’t be a hero, a hero has no flaws; but that’s never true. His courage; grace under pressure. It’s the hardest struggle that makes someone more admirable.

Although, I feel a bit like a hypocrite if I said that I didn’t admire any of my teachers in high school; cause I didn’t. They didn’t really give me any chances and gave the chances to people who didn’t really deserve it, which could be viewed as selfishness or normal. But teachers all over my internal-school-map make impacts on me, probably if not definitely shaping how I view certain things now and in the future. For instance, one of the most  influential teachers happened to be a substitute Art teacher my Senior year of high school; she gave me a chance by entering my charcoal pastel falcon (which I had worked so hard on and loved working on) into the District Art show…Did I win anything for it? Nope. But I’m still proud that I was given that opportunity one that will stick like a glue stick. I still question how in that short amount of time she was able to make a larger impact on me than the regular/main Art teacher. Cheers to you Ms. Byrd! (If the spelling is correct.)

One of my college English teacher’s said to the class during one of his lectures; “we’re all broken.” I would say the rest if I could remember the exact words. I’d like for the fullest impact if I ever quote anyone, word for word is the strength, which one day I’ll be able to remember and speak the rest, but for now bear with me. Because we’re socially inept and were raised from a family who were like glass in there days and passed it down. It’s a depressing thought, but it’s positive and reassuring once you’ve taken the journey within yourself to accept the flaws. Some people can’t, and it’s hard. It shows. Just stay with us for a bit longer.

It also shows in the movie as well, and many people who watch it don’t just see a movie that can be rated with stars. This is watching your own journey that you might not have realized you’ve had yet on a giant screen of introspective relation. It’s hard to accept, it truly is and sometimes it’s hard to place the pieces together.

~Until next time!

Oh, almost forgot; here’s the IMDB page on Detachment.
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1683526/

Leave a Reply

